~Uno~

Special Man Friend and his wife came for cards and pizza.  It was the first time CC met my children.

I cleaned my kitchen and sent one of the boys to pick up pizza. I was really nervous.  When I came out to my kids as poly, I was genuinely surprised at the neutrality of their reactions.  The worst I got was, “Huh.  That’s kind of weird.” and the best was, “Hey, the important thing is that you are happy.”

But meeting Special Man’s wife?  I wanted it to happen. I want the big happy poly extended family.  It’s been a long time coming, this first meeting, and truthfully, there was a time I didn’t think it was possible that we would ever make this step.

Life is full of surprises.  We are constantly changing and evolving as human creatures, and I am so grateful for that.

The whole thing was uneventful.  My kids were polite, well mannered, accepting.  My 19 year old had told me in advance that he was supportive but uncomfortable, and wasn’t sure if he would stay and hang out, and I was happy that he was able to tell me that.  He did meet CC, and stayed for a few minutes, but soon retreated.  We ate dinner, and then played a few rounds of cutthroat Uno, and it was easy, and casual, and relaxed.

We are already planning Thanksgiving.  Things feel good.

One thought on “~Uno~

  1. Girl!!! I love it.
    Oh my God. Such happiness. I’m so excited for you all. What a blessing for everyone. I know, I know.. I sound like a cult member or something about this some times, but I can’t express the importance this kinda stuff has for me. I realize that we won’t always be super close with our loves loves, but how wonderful of her and of you to take this step maybe for each other or for special man friend. It’s a wonderful wonderful thing when you can have all the people you love treating each other so well. What a cool thing. Congrats.

Leave a comment

Poly Nirvana

Love, Life and Rational Polyamory

The Gentle Butch

Advice, fierce hugs and love punches from a queer on crutches.

A Polyamorous Love Story

Exploring polyamory and other forms of ethical nonmonogamy

UPS

Support | Education | Outreach

fatbabe.wordpress.com/

Living life on the prairie like a fat babe does